Foreign Exchange Glossary

European Central Bank (ECB)

The European Central Bank (ECB) is based in Frankfurt am Main and was established in 1998 to stand as the centre of the European System of Central Banks/Eurosystem. The ECB is now also an institution of the European Union. In conjunction with the national central banks of Eurozone members, the ECB is responsible for creating and implementing Eurozone monetary policy.