Indonesian Rupiah (IDR) Exchange Rates

ISO 4217 Code


Central Bank

Bank of Indonesia


Official users


Unofficial users

East Timor


1/100 Sen



Coins in use

Rp100, Rp200, Rp500, Rp1000

Banknotes in use

Rp1000, Rp200o Rp5000 Rp10000 Rp20000 Rp50000 Rp100000


Perum Peruri


The Indonesian Rupiah is the currency in use by the Republic of Indonesia. The currency is issued and circulated by the bank of Indonesia. A Rupiah is divided into 100 Sen, but thanks to rapid inflation the coins and notes denominated in Sen have been made obsolete and valueless.

The currency was first introduced in 1946 during a tumultuous period in the country’s history. The islands were invaded by the Japanese and after the war the islands fought for freedom from their Dutch colonial masters; consequently the country’s economy was damaged.

The Indonesian currency has faced hyper inflation in recent decades making the currency relatively worthless in small denominated notes. The smallest note in circulation today is only worth $0.10.