UAE Dirham (AED) Exchange Rates

ISO 4217 Code


Central Bank

United Arab Emirates Central Bank


Official users

United Arab Emirates

Unofficial users

Kiribati, Nauru, Tuvalu


1/100 Fils



Coins in use

25, 50 Fils, 1 Dirham

Banknotes in use

5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 Dirhams

The Dirham is the currency used by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and was introduced in 1971, the same year the country gained independence from the British Empire. The Dirham replaced the Qatari Riyal and it is divided into 100 Fils. Currently, the UAE Dirham is pegged to the US Dollar.